Welcome to my blog!

UPDATE: Mediafire have suspended my account and locked my downloads. Having endured the tedium of re-uploading everything I had previously hosted on Mega Upload onto Mediafire earlier this year, I can't be arsed re-uploading everything again.

So please don't ask for things to be reuploaded!

I undertake this venture knowing that I don't have the spare time to do it, but feel that these artists NEED TO BE HEARD (please excuse my shouting!). Or is that I think I need to be heard? Or that there are (or have been) some great music blogs that have inspired me to wanna jump on the bandwagon? Probably all of the above??I hope you enjoy the blog. If I turn one person onto these bands that turned me on then it will all have been worth it!

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Phonograph - OKNO


This blog has limped it's way to 100,000 page visits - and that excludes my own visits.

When I started this little ol' blog, featuring mostly obscure and ill-fated bands and artists, it never occurred to me it would receive 100,000 page visits. It restores my faith that some people out there actually have decent taste in music.

So, to celebrate - a new post!

But also a word of warning......I've received a few emails from Media Fire about violations of their terms of service for some of the material I've made available for download. If I receive a few more strikes I may lose my account, which means all the downloads I've put up will be inaccessible. Since I've only recently re-upped everything recently after the Mega Upload fiasco, I'm not sure I want to be repeating that exercise any time soon. So if you want to download anything from this blog, do it NOW!

Today we have Shoulda Been Huge faves Phonograph.

OKNO is their second album. It's a darker, mellower, but altogether more seductively satisfying LP that their debut LP, previously featured on this blog. It contains the wonderful Wellwisher, featuring Grace Potter on vocals. And it's by far the best music her name has ever been associated with - IMHO! Shoulda been a hit!

To back up my statement about this blog featuring obscure artists, I've managed to find only one other blog that has featured Phonograph: Sitcom Serf. They have a great live show from Texas which I strongly recommend. And apart from the above clip, which ain't exactly one of the album's highlights, there's not much else on YouTube. So thank god for Spotify - head there if you wanna hear the album in it's entirety.

Phonograph - 2009 - OKNO

1. You / Me 5:29
2. Okno 2:32
3. Wellwisher (feat. Grace Potter) 4:47
4. Are You Gonna 4:40
5. Holy Rollers 3:44
6. Cedars 5:57
7. Mountain Tops 3:50
8. Less Than Expected 3:00
9. American Music 4:08
10. Paper Bag 4:27
11. Lily Eyes 4:24
12. Uke 4:02

MP3 only (sorry!)


  1. Just discovered your blog. Awesome place! Regarding mediafire's warning, I think it is easy to dodge it in the future if you mask your file names with irrelevant words and even password protect them so that mediafire won't be able to know what's inside the rar's with just a glance at the rar names. Best~

  2. Thanks leakingwater.

    Don't know what to think about the Media Fire warnings.

    I doubt there is someone employed by Media Fire to check content, so I assume the warnings were in regard to an external complaint - either from an artist, their record company, or their management.

    But counting against that is the warning was for one LP from an artist for which I have put up multiple albums - so why would they complain about one and not the others?

    Also, anyone can just do a google search and find the stuff I've put on the blog, so I don't think disguising the download link will help.

    But thanks for the suggestion - and for caring enough to make it!